The Mississippi Athletic Conference released its all-conference selections on Wednesday and Davenport Assumption pitcher Trenton Wallace was named Player of the Year.

Wallace was 6-1 over the entire school year with a 0.28 ERA. He allowed three runs, and was charged with two earned runs. That ERA is the lowest in the state in any class.

Wallace was unbeaten in MAC play and allowed just one run all season, which was earned.

Davenport Assumption was eliminated by Central DeWitt in a district final. DeWitt qualified for the state tournament, but lost this week at state to Carlisle, 8-7.

Assumption won the conference title in 2016.

The other two pitchers who made it onto the MAC first-team were North Scott's Ryan Miller and Davenport Central sophomore Ian Bedell.

Central also got three other first-team position players — Christian Pena, Alec Capshaw and Bobby Magnus.

Capshaw led the team with a .421 batting average, and stole 24 out of 25 bases. Capshaw and Pena each hit five home runs. Magnus hit .342 with 24 RBIs.

Davenport West also made it to the state tournament, and utility player Trevor Burkhart was the lone Falcon to make the first-team squad. West sophomores Brandon Charles and Clayton Nettleton made the MAC second-team.



More From ESPN 104.1 FM and 1170AM